Prince Ajayi emerges new Akarigbo one year after1 min read


By Daud Olatunji

ABEOKUTA—The new Akarigbo of Remoland in Ogun State has been elected by seven king-makers.

He is Prince Adewale Ajayi, a Chartered Accountant and Legal Practitioner who emerged as the new Akarigbo of Remoland through an open ballot yesterday.

The election which was held among the seven kingmakers took place at the Akarigbo’s palace, Sagamu, Ogun State.

Vanguard gathered that the kingmakers included; Chief Rasak Akinyemi Salami (Lisa), Chief Abdul Wasiu Awofala (Losi), Chief Taiwo Sule ( Oluwo Odofin), Chief Lamidi Olaitan Adesanya (Apena), Chief Ogunyemi Tijani Adesina (Ogbeni odi), Chief Kolawole Odumuyiwa (Balogun)and Olotu Omoba JAS Adekunle (Olotu Omoba Akarigbo).

Check this out  CDD releases report on how INEC collated 2019 elections, says exercise less transparent [See Details]

A source at the palace said the election was supervised by the Secretary to the Local Government, Otunba Adewale Fakoya, who reportedly read the names of the 19 nominees to the kingmakers, requesting them to cast their votes for the candidate of their choice.

Further findings showed that the result of the election revealed that Prince Adewale Ajayi garnered five votes out of seven to emerge the new Akarigbo of Remoland while Prof. Babatunde Ogunmola got the remaining two votes. Other 17 nominees to the stool could not get any vote .

When contacted the Commissioner for Local government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Chief Jide Ojuko confirmed the emergence of Ajayi as the newly elected Akarigbo of Remoland.

Check this out  PDP berates Buhari, APC, says budget will impoverish, mortgage future of Nigerians

Ojuko said Ajayi got five votes as against two votes by the runner up, Prof. Babatunde Ogunmola in an election conducted by the seven-man King makers.

He disclosed that the nomination and election process were peaceful, adding that installation date would be announced very soon.