Vanguard wins 2018 best Newspaper website3 min read


….As cx-NCC boss, Zinox chief hinge free, fair poll on technology

By Olasunkanmi Akoni & Monsuru Olowoopejo

lagos—Vanguard newspapers has won the maiden edition of 2018 Nigerian Online Merit Awards, NiOMA, as the best newspaper website.

The awards is aimed at recognizing and celebrating key drivers of Nigeria’s online revolution, while the event had as its theme, “Celebrating Key Drivers of Nigeria’s Online Revolution.” . Chairman of the occasion was former Executive Vice-Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, Mr. Ernest Ndukwe.

Nominees in the category on the occasion are: VanguardNnewspapers, winning the Prestigious Platinum Award, The Guardian, which won the Gold Awards, while Daily Trust Newspaper won the Silver award. Other awards won by other nominees included: Minister of the Year, MDA website of the Year, State Innovative e-Project of the Year, State website of the year, ICT Icon of the year, and e-Governor of the year.

Check this out  SERAP urges Buhari to implement report on financial autonomy
From left: Dr Ernest Ndukwe, Former EVC,Nigerian Communications Commission, Mr Eze Ababa Editor Vanguard, Mr Adekunle Aliyu, Online Editor Vanguard and Mr Azu Akanwa, Production Editor Vanguard Newspaper during the 2018 NIOMA Awards with the theme; Leveraging the Internet Revolution to Leapfrog Nigeria’s Development held in Lagos. PHOTO AKEEM SALAU

Alhaji. Adebayo Shittu won the Minister of the Year award for the “well-designed, active, interactive and rich official website of the Ministry of Communication. Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode won the e-Governor of the Year for leveraging governance through the application of  ICT, while Governors Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom and Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State, won the Best State Website of the Year, State Innovative e-Project of the Year, respectively.

Chairman of Zinox Technologies Limited, Leo Stan Ekeh, won the ICT Icon of the Year for his innovative and tremendous contributions to the development of ICT in Nigeria, in particular, and Africa, at large. Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, won the Best MDA website of the Year, while Zenith Bank International Plc, won Bank of the Year Award.

Check this out  Tottenham vs Liverpool: Pochettino reveals "painful" decision

Editor of Vanguard Newspaper, Mr. Eze Anaba, while receiving the award on behalf of the organisation, expressed sincere appreciation for the honour and recognition as the Best Website of the year.

Anaba, who was accompanied by Mr. Azu Akanwa, pioneer Online Editor of Vanguard and Mr. Adekunle Aliyu, the current Online Editor to receive the award, attributed the feat to the great contributions of the duo who he said have been working tirelessly to service the site inspite of myriad challenges in the highly competitive media market.

According to him, “I, as the Editor of the paper, do not do the online job, it is done by the online crew and the credit goes to them.

Check this out  Plateau crisis: Hold Lalong responsible, group tells citizens

“I appreciate the organisers of this award, NiOMA and the personalities involved. That is why Vanguard Media takes this award seriously to have been so recognized and honoured. We dedicate this award to our teeming and highly esteemed readers across the globe and we see this as a challenge to do more in terms of contents and service.” In making Vanguard online a frontline in the media space, Anaba said, “One of the people that makes Vanguard Online formidable is the Chairman of Vanguard Media, Mr. Sam Amuka. He empowered Vanguard to be what it is today. “Also, I must not fail to recognise the immense contribution of the former EVC of NCC, Mr. Ernest Ndukwe, chairman of this occasion who partnered with Vanguard in creating the website.